NTAs 2021: Fans’ delight as It’s A Sin scoops big award

FANS have called it the “best series ever”, and last night It’s A Sin received official recognition after winning Best New Drama at the National Television Awards.  

The Channel 4 programme starring Years and Years star Olly Alexander, which placed the aids pandemic into the spotlight, was up against Des, Normal People and Bridgerton.  

Sporting a bright neon green suit, the singer took to the stage with all the crew to collect their prize for the show which aired on TV earlier this year.  

One pleased fan said: “Congratulations! Well-deserved, the series was phenomenal and a real eye opener to what went on in the 1980’s to the gay community.” 

Another said: “This series is a total masterpiece. Funny, emotional and heartbreaking.  

“You fell in love with every character. Best thing I’ve watched for a long time.” 

Another added: “Absolutely loved this drama, so beautiful done and so so moving and touching. 

“Massive congratulations to the whole cast, you deserve to all be very proud of yourselves.” 

Full list of NTAs 2021 winners: 

The Bruce Forsyth Entertainment Award 

  • Ant and Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway  
  • Taskmaster 
  • I’m A Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here! – WINNER 
  • The Graham Norton Show 

Returning Drama 

  • Unforgotten 
  • Line of Duty – WINNER 
  • The Crown 
  • Call the Midwife 

Challenge Show 

  • The Great British Sewing Bee 
  • Love Island 
  • The Great British Bake Off – WINNER 
  • Celebrity SAS: Who Dares Wins 

Serial Drama Performance 

  • Billy Price as Sid Summer in Hollyoaks 
  • Sally Carman as Abi Franklin in Coronation Street 
  • Mollie Gallagher as Nina Lucas in Coronation Street – WINNER 
  • Danny Dyer as Mick Carter in EastEnders 


  • Afterlife – WINNER 
  • Sex Education 
  • Friday Night Dinner 
  • The Vicar of Dibley 

New Drama 

  • Des 
  • It’s A Sin – WINNER 
  • Normal People 
  • Bridgerton 

Quiz Show 

  • Beat the Chasers – WINNER 
  • In For A Penny 
  • Michael McIntyre’s The Wheel 
  • Celebrity Catchphrase 


  • Gordon, Gino and Fred: American Road Trip 
  • Paul O’Grady: For the Love of Dogs 
  • Caroline Flack: Her Life and Death 
  • Gogglebox – WINNER 

Authored Documentary 

  • Katie Price: Harvey and Me 
  • Marcus Rashford: Feeding Britain’s Children 
  • Kate Garraway: Finding Derek – WINNER 
  • Rob Burrow: My Year with MND 
  • Roman Kemp: Our Silent Emergency 

Special Recognition Award 

  • Line of Duty 


  • This Morning – WINNER 
  • Loose Women 
  • The Chase 
  • The Repair Shop 

TV Presenter 

  • Piers Morgan 
  • Bradley Walsh 
  • Ant and Dec – WINNER 
  • Alison Hammond 
  • Holly Willoughby 

Drama Performance 

  • David Tennant as Dennis Nielsen in Des – WINNER 
  • Vicky McClure as DI Kate Flemming in Line of Duty 
  • Adrian Dunbar as Superintendent Ted Hastings in Line of Duty 
  • Olly Alexander as Richie Tozer in It’s A Sin 
  • Martin Compston as DI Steve Arnott in Line of Duty 

Talent Show 

  • Strictly Come Dancing – WINNER 
  • Britain’s Got Talent 
  • RuPaul’s Drag Race UK 
  • The Masked Singer 

Serial Drama 

  • Coronation Street – WINNER 
  • EastEnders 
  • Emmerdale 
  • Hollyoaks 

Featured image credit: ITV/Facebook/National Television Awards 

Have you got a celebrity story? Email: tipoffs@entertainmentgazette.co.uk  

Reporter / Researcher @EntsGazetteUK & @GazetteShowBiz | Sourcing showbiz and lifestyle stories for the news | Got a story? lily-ann.gilmour@entertainmentgazette.co.uk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *